Psalm 119:57-112

I read verses 57-112 today.  I feel like I’m going kind of slow in my reading, but I guess that’s okay.  There actually is a reason for my going sort of slow: I’ve found when I read a lot at once I don’t really think about what I have read as much as I do if I read shorter potions at a time.  So instead of reading a lot, I read smaller portion and then later on in the day, read something else.  It has been helpful, I think. 

Verse 71 stuck out to me today while I was reading.  It says It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn Thy statutes.  It really reminds me of the beginning of James, in a way.  You know, James talks about counting your trials all joy.  This is a great way to think!  When you’re going through afflictions think it is good that I am being afflicted and count it all joy!

Also notice what is said about how much God’s word is loved…

  • The law of Thy mouth is better unto me than thousands of gold and silver
  • O how I love Thy law! it is my meditation all the day
  • How sweet are Thy words unto my taste; yea, sweeter than honey to my mouth

Do we think that God’s words are sweeter than honey and better than thousands of gold and silver?  How about meditating on them all the day? 

How can we love God’s word more, and what are some ways to meditate on it all the day?

please share your thoughts!

