Why Journal?

One summer, a long while ago, my Grandma gave  me a little diary.  I wrote all about the my life as (about) a little nine year old.  Since then I have filled a couple of different journals, but sometimes I wonder, what’s the point in journaling?  Thinking about it I have come up with a few reasons why I think it a good idea to journal.  I’m sure there are probably more good reasons, but here are the three that I’ve come up with. 

  1. Jounaling allows you to record what the Lord has done for you.  If you record the things that happen in your life, you will be able to go back and see how the Lord has been working in your life. 
  2. Journaling helps you to remember what the Lord has been teaching you.  Perhaps you learned something very helpful during the Church meeting this Sunday.  Or maybe you have  been learning a lesson through a trial that you have been going through.  Writing about what you are learning, allows you to remember it.
  3. Journaling makes it easier to think things through and organize your thoughts about things.  If I’m trying to figure something out, or figure out clearly what I believe about something, writing out my thoughts often helps me a lot.

So if you don’t journal, I’d suggest giving it a try, and if you do, keep at it!  I try not to journal excessively, because I’ve found when I do I can wear myself out with it, but it is a helpful thing to do.  Have Fun!

One thought on “Why Journal?

Add yours

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

