David Brainerd

Recently I’ve been reading on David Brainerd.  My sisters got me the book ‘Five Pioneer Missionaries’ for my birthday this year. I’ve finally gotten around to reading it. The first missionary in the book was Brainerd.  So I read that.  And now I’m reading ‘The Life and Diary of David Brainerd’.  It was neat to begin by reading a brief biography of his life and then go back and read his personal diary.

Throughout his childhood he struggled with salvation and tried to earn it through his own works.  It wasn’t until he was twenty-one that he truly was saved.  He only lived eight years after that.  Part of those he spent at Yale, some in preparation for missions, and then among the Indians of North America.  He died at the age of twenty nine. 

“Here am I, send me; send me to the ends of the earth; send me to the rough, the savage pagans of the wilderness; send me from all that is called comfort on earth; send me even to death itself, if it be but in Thy service, and to promote Thy kingdom.” – David Brainerd

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

