Keep Yourselves From Idols

This evening I spent quite a bit of time working on my “One True God” assignment for this week.  (If any of you don’t know what that is, it’s a workbook by Paul Washer that I’m going through for Bible class this school year.  You can actually find it online at the HeartCry website here: http://www.heartcrymissionary.com/resources/online_books ).  This week I have been looking at how God is true and truthful.  I thought I would share a quote with you all about idolatry that I found very helpful.

It is extremely important to understand that idolatry can take many forms.  If we give preference to anyone or anything above God, then we are guilty of idolatry.  The joys and pleasure of this present world, careers, ministries, hobbies, and especially self are some of the more common idols found among men.  Prayerfully consider this truth and then answer the following questions: What is most dear to you?  What most occupies your thought life?  Do you think most about the excellencies and glory of god, honoring God in your family, doing the will of God in your vocations?  Or do you think most about self, success, possessions, entertainment, hobbies, etc.?  Remember: “As a man thinks within himself, so is he” (Proverbs 23:7).  Are we not all guilty of some form or measure of idolatry?  Do we not all have the need to repent and seek God’s mercy and grace?

~ “The One True God” by Paul Washer

 “Little children, guard yourselves from idols!” ~1 John 5:21

6 thoughts on “Keep Yourselves From Idols

Add yours

  1. Amy, I think you are doing a good job on idoltary. Please let me share this one thing. Just the other day i was playing my favorite game (ROBLOX)and then had some time with my family but…then I was disrespectful and got in trouble. My parents told me that ROBLOX was an Idol to me and they told me that idoltary is wrong. So now I don’t play ROBLOX much any more.

  2. Amy! I hear it was your birthday the other day! forgive my lateness, but I wanted to wish you a VERY happy 16th birthday! I pray that the Lord blesses this year of yours immensely! I hope you have had a wonderful time of being 16 :)

  3. This is a great post, Amy! Thank you for the challenge to examine my heart for idols. It is amazing how easily they sneak in and distract us from loving God with ALL of our heart!
    You have a great blog here, keep up the wonderful work! God bless you!

  4. Talithalamb, thank you for sharing that example about idolatry. Your exactly right – even things we enjoy doing can become idols in our lives, if we are not careful. We need to gaurd against letting possesions, hobbies, or anything else in our lives take too high a place!

    Amy

  5. Thank you for your sweet comment, Hannah! Yes, I did have a very enjoyable birthday. It was so thoughtful of you to remember.

    Amy

  6. Jenny, I, too, have been chanlenged to examine myself for idols. By the grace of God, may we all be diligent to break down any idols and love the Lord God with our whole self!

    Thank you for your encouraging words!

    Amy

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

