What is the Good News in Your Life?

A couple months ago my brother was teaching a Bible study.  His text was Galatians 1:2-5 on the Gospel of Jesus Christ. 

“Gospel” means “Good news”…The gospel is the good news of Jesus Christ… The gospel is the good news of how God can forgive guilty, law-despising sinners and still be “just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus” (Romans 3:26).  Proverbs 17:15 says “He who justifies the wicked and he who condemns the righteous, both of them alike are an abomination to the Lord.”  As Christians we speak of how we are justified and in a right standing before the Lord.  Yet, all men are sinners; therefore how can God justify them?  How can God call Himself “Him who justifies the ungodly” without being an abomination?  How can God justify you?   Because of Christ!  Because Christ stood in the place of guilty sinners.  Because Christ, the God-man, came to earth and lived a perfect life as a man, died taking on Himself the sins of His people and bore the full wrath of God for those sins, and then rose from the dead, proclaiming that He truly was the Son of God (Romans 1:4) and sin and death had no power over Him.  God is fully righteous as He justifies the guilty because Christ paid the penalty for that guilt, He drank the wrath of God.  That is the good news of the gospel. 

And so, Daniel asked us all…

What is the “Good News” in your life?

And that question has really stuck with me.  For a believer, the greatest news we can ever receive is the gospel.  What can be greater news to a believer than the fact that we have peace with God?   If this is the gospel and it is greatest news for a believer, then it should give us the most joy, it should be what we get most excited about, it should be what we are most passionate about. 

In light of that, I have been asking myself this question?  What am I most passionate about, not just when I write e-mails or post on my blog, but in my day-to-day life?  Not just on Sundays and Wednesdays but every single day of the year?  Is the gospel the good news in my life?

I have found this question so very helpful to consider!  I’m so thankful to the Lord for bringing it to my mind often.  Please take some time to think about it yourself, as I’m sure you will find doing so to be beneficial!

4 thoughts on “What is the Good News in Your Life?

Add yours

    1. It was nice to hear from you again, Elizabeth. I’m glad this post was encouraging! I hope you have a blessed day, as well.

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

