Your Way is Righteous

The following is a song that I wrote after some meditating on Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.”   

Oh Lord, I am weak
So I come to You
My God, lead my path
For Your way is true
For
(Chorus)
Your way is righteous
Your way is just
Your way is holy
In You I will trust
In You I will trust
 

My own understanding
So small, weak, and frail
I cannot rely on
It will surely fail
But
(Chorus)

In the path of God
In the truthful way
Therein guide my life
And lead me each day
For
(Chorus)

© Amy P. 2010

9 thoughts on “Your Way is Righteous

    • Oh, thank you, Savannah! Yes, I wrote a tune to go along with the song. Maybe one day I’ll be able to record it and put it on my blog…we’ll see =) And thanks so much for commenting!

  1. This was beautiful, Amy. The words spoke to my heart as I read . . . His way is indeed true, just, holy, and is what is best for us. May we always be seeking to walk not in the path that we think is best, but in the path that He has laid for us in His Word. And even more so, desiring with great joy to walk whatever path He leads us down. Thank you so much for sharing!

    • I’m thankful that the words were a blessing to you, Sarah! Thank you for sharing what you did in your comment, and for your kind words about the song!

  2. Hello Amy!
    Thanks for your comments! =) You’re so sweet…of course you can borrow my idea for a Q&A page. Actually, I borrowed the Q&A idea from Bethany Wissmann Beasley’s blog. =)
    I hope to either answer the questions I have received in a post or just respond in comments, but I haven’t decided quite yet. =)
    Wow…what a beautiful song you wrote! I would love to hear it put to music. I know you play violin; do you play anything else? Piano maybe? (I’ve played piano for about six years, I think.)
    Well, this comment is getting quite long. Have a wonderful New Year! =)
    Many blessings to you and your family in 2011.
    Love in our Savior,
    ~Annie~
    P.S. I love your new blog design. Very lovely! =)

    • Hi Annie!
      Oh, you’re very welcome for the comments! Thanks for letting me borrow your (I guess, Bethany’s) idea! I’m thinking depending on the questions I’ll answer them in the comment section if they don’t require a long answer and make posts out of them if they do.

      Thank you for your compliment on the song. I might try making a recording of it being played and put it on my blog, if I can figure out how to do all that…maybe my brother can help me =) Yes, I do play the piano (my mom started teaching my when I was five…though I took some summers off since then, and don’t play too much these days) and also guitar. I’m sure your piano playing is beautiful!

      I hope that you and your family have a wonderful New Year, also! Thanks so much for you sweet comment!

please share your thoughts!

