Quote from the Books Tuesday {2.15.11}

 Anyone notice something has been missing around here for the past number of months?  It’s been a long time since I last did a “Quote from the Books Tuesday”…but I’m going to try to revive this tradition.  Let’s see if we can get it going again, shall we? 

{A quick note: I’m not going to be simply quoting books from now on…books, sermons, hymns…these posts will probably contain quotes from a number of different sources.  But we’ll stick with the title “Quote from the Books Tuesday” — because I like it :)  Now, with that said…}

Today’s quote comes from a sermon by Paul Washer, the “Shocking Youth Message”.  You may have heard/read this before, but it’s really good and definitely worth hearing again!

Let’s imagine that I show up late and I run up here on the platform, and all the leaders are angry with me and say, “Brother Paul, don’t you appreciate the fact you’re given an opportunity to speak here and you come late?”

And I’d say, “Brothers, you have to forgive me.”

“Well, why?”

“Well, I was out here on the highway, and I was driving and I had a flat tire and I got out to change the tire, and when I was changing the tire, the lug nut fell off, and I wasn’t paying attention that I was on the middle of the highway, I stood up and there was a 30-ton logging truck going 120 miles an hour about ten yards in front of me, and it ran me over and that’s why I’m late.”

Now, there would only be two…I know no one studies logic anymore, but there would only be two logical conclusions. One, I’m a liar or two, I’m a madman. You would say, “Brother Paul, it’s absolutely absurd. It is impossible, Brother Paul, to have an encounter with something as large as a logging truck and not be changed.”

And then my question would be to you — What is larger? A logging truck or God? How is it that so many people today profess to have had an encounter with Jesus Christ, and yet, they are not permanently changed?”

  (Photo from Microsoft Office Clipart)

 

11 thoughts on “Quote from the Books Tuesday {2.15.11}

  1. Hi Amy!

    Thanks for sharing, Amy! That is a wonderful “quote” or section from his sermon. That was a wonderful illustration that he made.

    Looking forward to more of your Book Tuesdays!

    Love ya, sis!
    -Bethany :)

    • It was fun to see a comment from you on here, Bethany…thank you! It is a wonderful illistration that he used. I’m glad you are looking forward to more of these posts =) Love you, too!

  2. wow
    one word for that “quote”

    OUCH!!

    that is a very convicting thought–thankyou you for posting it!
    Stay strong sister!
    luv Katie

    • You’re welcome, Katie! It is a convicting thought!

      It was so nice to see another comment from you! Thank you for stopping by!

  3. That is a searching quote – and a reminder that we as Christians are to continue growing in the Lord… and that we ought to be different from the world.

    Blessings,
    Anna

  4. That quote sounds just like Paul Washer! May the Lord keep Him uncompromising in speaking out the truth to the church.

    On another thought, I like the idea of a Quote day :)
    And I noticed the clip art. *Wink, wink* It’s a great resource for blogging isn’t it?

    • Doesn’t it, Becky?! I’m so thankful that he continues to proclaim the truth and pray that the Lord will continue to keep him uncompromising, as you shared!

      You know, it would be fun if you would start doing a quote day! I hope you’ll think about doing it =) Yep, the clip art…it is a great resource for us bloggers :)

please share your thoughts!

