Malachi 1:11

“For from the rising of the sun even to its setting, My name will be great among the nations, and in every place incense is going to be offered to My name, and a grain offering that is pure; for My name will be great among the nations, says the Lord of Hosts” — Malachi 1:11

Been thinking about this verse for a couple days. I use it quite often when I’m praying for missions. It truly is an awesome promise that God’s kingdom will advance and His name surely will be made great.

But recently I’ve been considering the question “Am I purposefully living my life to make God’s name great?” I mean in my own life on a daily basis am I living in such a way that it’s visible that I desire God’s name, not my own, to be made great? When I speak, am I saying things that exalt the King or am I saying things to make myself look good? When I refrain from speaking something I know needs said, for fear of what others might think, I’m not living in a way that says “God, make Your name great.” I’m saying my name is more important and I can’t say that because it might hurt my name, people might not think as good of me. When I serve others and desire to be thanked, I’m endeavoring to make myself look great. Examples like that keep going. It’s been convicting, and something I forget too easily. But it ought not to be forgotten. My name means nothing. There is no great need for people to recognize me or anything that I’ve done. But there is a great, great need for people to recognize the Lord. His name means everything.

A couple weeks ago we were blessed to have a missionary family join us in our Sunday meeting.  They are good friends and such an encouragement to spend time with!  Anyways, the whole message was very good, and I’ve been thinking a lot about something that was said: “If someone walks away from a conversation with me going ‘Wow, he’s a great guy’, then I’ve failed in whatever I was trying to say. I want them to walk away saying ‘Jesus Christ is amazing.’” I think that’s really the attitude of someone who’s living to make God’s name great.

Live to make God’s name great…in everything.  In those areas that where no else sees…your thought life, just when your alone, etc.  Make His name great in the little areas where sometimes we’re tempted to think it doesn’t really matter.  Make His name great when it means people will laugh at you.  And make His name great among the nations.  

My Name will be great
For the earth is My own.
The nations will fall
And bow down at My throne.

12 thoughts on “Malachi 1:11

Add yours

  1. Thank u for these thoughts and this verse, Amy! I know I often struggle w/ this, and its good to be reminded to glorify my great God with my actions, not seek to look good.
    God bless!
    Luv Katie

    1. You’re welcome, Katie! I’m glad you found the post to be helpful. It is so important to be seeking to glorify God in everything and something I know I need to work more on.

  2. Dear Amy,
    This is just what I’ve been thinking about recently,too! Also,your blog title is always such a good reminder for me to let my life be a light for Him!
    Thanks for the encouragement!
    God Bless!
    Alison

    1. That’s great that the Lord has laid this on your heart recently, Alison! And I’m thankful the blog title is an encouragement.

  3. I really appreciated this post, Amy. A lot. It fit in so well with what has been so often on my heart and mind these past few weeks. Thank you very much for sharing it!

    It is so simple really . . . but so profound . . . living our lives for the sole purpose of serving God and bringing glory to His name. In the big things, in the little things, in the every day moments of our lives. May this be an area that we earnestly seek after and grow in!

    Thank you again for sharing, Amy! What a blessing this post was to me!

    1. I’m so thankful to hear that the post was a blessing to you, Sarah! Thank you for what you shared in your comment…as you said, may it be an area that we are constantly seeking to grow in.

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

