The Fear of Failure

I often fear failure – making a big mistake, messing up in front of people, not succeeding at whatever I attempt.  When a sweet lady in our church learned she has cancer once again, this fear made itself obvious in another aspect.  I knew I should reply to those e-mail updates her husband sent out, but what should I say?  I might say something that isn’t very encouraging.  Surely I couldn’t say anything that would help.  Wouldn’t it be better just to be quiet and let everyone else say what should be said; that way I’d never make a mistake?

But I knew in the end that wouldn’t be right.  I know I love this couple, but if I never express, it they won’t know. And one day I realized something—I don’t want to look back on that with regret.  Regret that I didn’t show love since I was too prideful to do it, because that’s what it comes down to.

My guess is I’ve said quite a number of things that weren’t the best choice of words.  I’ve probably said some things that weren’t the most encouraging.  I’ve never experienced cancer; therefore, I don’t always know what to say and what to do.  But I do know that love is important.  I might fail, but I want to do it successfully.  I don’t want to look back and know I never even tried.

I remember listening to a sermon a little while back, hearing Paul Washer passionately shouting “This life is so frail, so tiny, so dangerously weaving about. You love with all your might while you have got the chance.”  Even if it means you might not look your best, even if you make mistakes while trying to love.  It doesn’t really matter.  In the end, the point is love and God will be glorified.

{p.s. I have no idea why I thought I should write this today.  There are some thoughts/confessions/struggles that I’d rather keep to myself…kind of like this one.  But somehow, I thought I should post it anyway.  Maybe it will be an encouragment to someone…hopefully.}

7 thoughts on “The Fear of Failure

Add yours

  1. Amy,
    I want to thank you for posting this. All too often I am afraid of failure, or afraid of what others may think of me. I really needed this today…it was such an encouragement! Thank you!

    1. You’re welcome, Rebekah, and thank you for commenting. I’m very thankful that this post was an encouragement to you, and I apprecaite you sharing.

  2. Thanks for posting this, Amy! So true! I didn’t even realize there was a novel of this story…althouh we LOVE the movie. =)
    Many blessings,
    Annie

    1. Thanks, Annie! Yes, my family really likes the movies “Facing the Giants” as well! We have the novel based on the movie because it was less expensive to buy the book and DVD together, than it was to just buy the DVD =) It was so nice to hear from you again…thank you!

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

