Portraying Christ

 

It may be very easy to mis-portray spiritual realities through thoughtless actions. Thoughtless actions can have big consequences.   Getting impatient with my brother at the library easily portrays the idea that there is nothing different about me than anyone else in the world.  Serving others with a sigh and unpleasant attitude easily portrays the idea that I only serve because I have to, that my King isn’t so great that I desire to serve out of love for Him.  As Christians, there’s a responsibility to portray Christ, and His work in our lives, correctly to the world.

Simply by calling myself a Christian I’m trying to say a lot of things…that Jesus Christ is Lord, that I am a new creation in Christ, that I have died to sin, and list could go on.  So, I have to live in a way that shows the world the truth of these facts.  It’s a big responsibility that affects all aspects of one’s life.  These truths need to be proclaimed through the way we talk, the way we dress, the way we love others, the way we spend our time and money—ultimately the way we live out every single thing in our entire lives.

Jesus Christ is Lord…I want it to be an unmistakable reality in my life that the world can’t deny.

When I make a mistake that involves incorrectly publishing the date of my sister’s birthday it doesn’t really matter.  I’m sure it wasn’t worth the worry I spent over such a trivial mistake.  For two days some of you thought Bethany’s birthday was on the 10th, which resulted in some earlier birthday wishes, resulting further in an even happier sister.  Not a problem.

But if I mis-portray to lost friends and a lost world the reality of Christ’s lordship (or any other truth) there is a problem.  Since they say actions speak louder than words, I want to give careful attention to living out my salvation accurately before the world.

How about you? :)

16 thoughts on “Portraying Christ

Add yours

  1. What wonderful thoughts Amy! It reminds me to “Be careful how I walk” As Paul says in Ephesians.
    Have a great week!
    Belonging to the Lord,
    Payton

    1. Thanks, Payton! That verse in Ephesians really does go along well with this thought. I hope that you have a great week, also.

  2. Thanks for reminding me that I should “live out my salvation accurately before the world”.

    Blessings,
    Abigail

  3. Hi Amy,

    Just wanted to say that I participated in the giveaway you posted about. Thanks!

    I enjoyed reading the post you put up today. You wrote it nicely. I agree, we must always live out our lives “worthy of the calling” that Christ has given us. It is comforting to know that we don’t have to do that on our own…because God already supplied the grace for us to do so! We just have to submit ourselves to God. Our practical walk on this earth may be imperfect, but God looks at our heart and when He sees that we had the desire to honor Him, then that’s what matters most. He has imputed to us Christ’s righteousness!
    I just thought I would add a note to your thoughts and encourage you.

    In Christ,
    Becky

    1. Hi Becky!

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this post. You’re right–this isn’t something that we are called to do in our own strength…it would be impossible. A couple verses that come to mind are Philippians 2:12-13 “So then, my beloved, just as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.” We’re to live ‘worthy of the calling’ as you said, knowing that our obedience was through God’s work in our lives. Anyway, thank you for the encouragement!

  4. What an awesome and encouraging reminder! I have actually thought on this within the last week when I was in a public place with one of my little siblings, and thought if how others saw me treating her was a good testimony or not. (my answer to myself was less than stellar). But I hadn’t really ever applied it to a service or helpful gesture– if I was acting put out or not when I do something for someone else. That gave me a new perspective of this! It truly does effect every area of my/our life/lives!!! Thankyou so much for the post! (and I thought the b-day slip up was cute! =) I’m sure it made Bethanys day two days early!)
    Love in Christ
    Katie

    1. That’s wonderful that this topic has been on your mind also, Katie! Thanks for sharing. Oh, that’s funny that you liked the birthday mistake :)

  5. This is something the Lord has been showing me lately. May He make us truly like His Son, so that everything we say and do will reflect Him!

  6. This was excellent, Amy. And I found my heart convicted as I read . . . thank you so much for sharing what the Lord is teaching you in this area as it greatly blessed me!

    It is sobering to think that we are always, every moment of our lives, either being a light for Christ or not . . . the words we speak, the things we do, the way we act, the condition of our hearts, what we think, etc. . . . and as you shared so well, how important it is for us to strive to in all things be obedient to Christ . . . living out His Word and letting His light shine through us.

    Thank you again for sharing!

    1. You’re welcome, Sarah :) I’m thankful to hear that the post was a blessing to you. Actually I was convicted when writing this post, as I know it’s definitely something I need to think more on & focus on living out. Thank you also for what you shared in your comment!

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

