Backwards?

I fed the baby her supper backwards last night.

Well, you see, she wouldn’t sit in her high chair without making a fuss, and I wasn’t really feeling in the mood for a fussy baby. My tactic—break up half a brownie on her tray—worked amazingly well. Smiles all around = success. The baby was happily in her chair and the entire brownie gone in no time. Dilemma number two was quick to follow, however, namely how many babies wish to go on to eating crackers after they’ve had brownies? Based upon the response I got from my little sister, I’d say not too many. But we pulled out the cheese crackers and a baby bottle of milk and a baby bottle of juice, and altogether that seemed to do the trick. Finally she ate a bowl of applesauce and was ready to go.

It wasn’t a very healthy meal (forgive me this once…it had been a busy day…) and I’d done it all backwards, but at least it worked. That’s all that matters…right?

As I washed dishes that night my mind suddenly went back to someone else who had taken their meal backwards that morning. 

I hadn’t meant to.  I got up at seven…actually, make that seven fifteen…and spent some time doing my morning Bible reading.  Then I spent a bit of time praying, but I didn’t have much time at this point.  My brother and I needed to run an errand and my Grandparents were coming to visit.  Since I’d slept in, the easiest thing to do was just cut short my morning devotions.  I crammed in a bit of time for a very quick “spiritual meal” then hit the road running. 

The day was busy.  When I had a little time in the afternoon I spent it reading a new book I’d recently gotten.  Evening found me worn out and somewhat irritated with everything which I blamed on the fact that I had so much to do.

Though I’m not much into the medical field I was suddenly able to diagnose my problem while feeding the baby dinner–I had been living all backwards.  I hadn’t been setting my mind on the things above throughout the day.  I had forgotten to look up towards my purpose (that is, living to glorify God).   Sunday’s sermon on thinking of others more highly than myself had slipped my mind.  It all started with the fact that I’d started my day backwards by placing the least importance on the most important thing.  Though that morning it may have seemed that short-changing my time with the Lord would be the thing that ‘worked’, truth be told, it didn’t. 

The Lord knew exactly what He was doing when He had me read the end of Luke chapter 10 this morning during my devotions–the story of Mary and her sister Martha.  Jesus gave a good admonition to those sisters who have a tendency to do things all backwards: “…You are worried and bothered about so many things; but only one thing is necessary, for Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:41-42)

Today, by God’s grace, I intend to remember that.

{photo credit: Microsoft Office Clipart}

12 thoughts on “Backwards?

  1. Been in similar situations so many times.
    I’ve also recently read in the Word during my quiet time, that we should keep our minds on things above. It’s so easy to get distracted by our chores, our little projects, our plans. We feel we’ve done something important, but the most important things are the things we do for God’s Kingdom. Yesterday I read the verse that said “Commit your way to the Lord and your plans will succeed.” That day, I prayed, committing all my ‘to-do’ list to the Lord. By the end of the day I was able to do all minus one on the list, and much more!
    I’m not saying it always works that way, or that we’re using God as a “helper” that comes alongside to help us do our things…but sometimes God is gracious and allows us that satisfaction once in awhile. Other times we just have to leave our frustration in His hands. I know it’s hard- been there, done that, and still working on it :)

    • You’re right, Becky…it is easy to become distracted by all the things going on around us and all the plans that we have, but we need to be sure that we are seeking the Lord’s kingdom first and foremost. Thanks also for sharing about the verse you read and how the Lord blessed you for following it.

  2. Thank you for the encouraging post Amy. I found myself in the same boat this morning. I think I snoozed my alarm 4 or 5 times… and totally regreted it later :(
    Love you sister!
    Katie

    • I’m glad it was encouraging, Kaite! I snooze my alarm clock way too often…still working on that. Thanks for the comment. btw, I’m gonna be writing that letter soon :D

  3. Excellent post, Amy! And it struck a chord in my own heart as this scenario hasn’t been absent in my own life. Thank you so much for your transparency . . . and for sharing this. It greatly blessed and convicted my heart this morning!

please share your thoughts!

