An Untitled Poem

{While glancing through some files on my computer, I came across this poem which I wrote a while back.  This was written about a time when I was very discouraged from a particular sin in my life.  Flipping through my Bible, the Lord caused me to notice a number of promises in His word that spoke to my heart and helped me to rejoice once again in the amazing grace of our great God.  It’s not  a great poem by any means; but here it is, nonetheless.}

“Rejoice in the Lord”
I think it cannot be done
For I’ve sinned once again
Against God’s holy Son

My mind should be set
On the things high above
Where my life is in Christ,
The great King of Love 

Yet, my mind is below,
And all I can see
Is I’ve failed once again;
Why am I not free? 

I come in Christ’s name
And for Your mercy I pray
Give me grace, show Your face
With Your answer don’t delay!

I have trusted in You
Make me clean now, I pray
For apart from Your grace
There is no other way. 

He says He has heard
He says that my sin
Has been taken away,
Has been paid for by Him. 

The Words of my God
Are sweet to my soul.
I am broken and worn
Still Christ makes me whole.

“Rejoice in the Lord”
What more can I do?
He has given my joy,
He has made my heart new!

11 thoughts on “An Untitled Poem

  1. Thank you for sharing this poem Dear Amy! I actually read some similar verses this morning… perhaps they were the same. <3
    I miss you, dear friend, and hope to be able to write you more soon and hopefully hear from you too!
    I hope you have an awesome and blessed day!
    Love Katie

  2. This is a beautiful poem, Amy! And it communicates a spiritual journey that I think we all walk through from time to time. I am glad that you took the time to write down your heart in this poem when going through the difficult time, and I am thankful that you shared it here!

    Blessings to you, Amy!

  3. Very Encouraging! I thank God for His mercy in our time of need. This poem expresses that truth. Praise God!

  4. Hi Amy! Thank you so much for sharing! I LOVE it! I have gone through this struggle many times, what a great God who continues to give grace!
    Praise the Lord!
    With love,
    Payton

  5. Thank you all for taking the time comment. I always apprecaite hearing from my readers, and your comments are an encouragement to me.

  6. What a positivly bueatiful poem, Amy. Wow! It brought me close to tears.
    The more I get to know you, and read things that you have done, I am so glad God has given me the chance to get to know you! You are a role model for anyone and everyone. Your spirit if very refreshing :)

    Love in Him,
    Raechel

please share your thoughts!

