Afternoon Stream of Consciousness

It’s been a while since I last wrote much on here.  There are a couple of reasons why.  For one, I haven’t felt that I’ve had the time to sit down and write; there’s been plenty going on.  A more solid reason for lack of posts is the fact that it’s been hard to write down and explain the things that I’ve been learning and thinking on lately.   But, I’m going to attempt it today.  As the title portrays I really have no set direction in which I plan to have this post go.  I’ll just write, and if it turns out into a post-able piece, I shall post it :)  So here goes…

I just finished the book Think: the Life of the Mind and the Love of God by John Piper.  I will say it took a lot of thinking to think with John Piper on thinking about thinking (or something like that).  It was good though.  One large thing that it brought to mind for me was how all things–obviously the focus in this book being thinking, but all things nevertheless–exist to bring glory to the Lord, and therefore pride has no place in a believer’s life.  If there’s been a very convicting thought on my mind of late it’s that there’s a lot of pride in my life. 

“Take My Life and Let it Be” by Francis Havergal–it’s one of my favorite hymns, and I sing it often as a prayer that God would truly make that my life mindset and constant attitude. 

Take my life and let it be
Consecrated, Lord, to Thee.
Take my moments and my days,
Let them flow in endless praise.

Take my love, my Lord, I pour
At Thy feet its treasure store.
Take myself and I will be
Ever, only, all for Thee.

Have I offered everything to Christ or am I holding back?  Prideful thoughts have no room to stand among prayers such as these.  If I have given myself fully to the Lord there is no portion of myself that can seek its self-esteem.  There is nothing in my life that has the liberty to seek any honor for itself. 

And how well am I doing portraying to those around me the fact that I pray “Take myself and I will be ever, only, all for Thee”?  If I pray that, I must be willing and eager to allow myself to be used up for the Lord in whatever way He feels best.  That means when God chooses that my days need to be spent a good deal in serving my family around the home, I can’t complain (that’s never justified, of course, whether or not you’re singing “Take My Life” each day); I should rather find joy in seeking to honor God in this way. 

Also, when a person sees the wretchedness of pride, it will drive them to prayer…prayer that the pride will be rooted from their life and prayer that God will be glorified.  They’ll also pray more about each thing they face and each thing they struggle with.  When one’s recognized honestly–not because we know it’s true but because we’ve experienced it–that we are utterly dependent upon God’s grace, seeking to do things in our own power (or worry about the fact that we can’t accomplish/change things) is seen to be absurd. 

And so, I need humility to pray.  I need prayer to seek humility.  All in all, I need God’s continual grace in my life to conform me more and more to the image of Christ.  And I praise Him that He is a loving Father abundantly patient even with me!

13 thoughts on “Afternoon Stream of Consciousness

Add yours

  1. As several of you have requested some posts (graduation, sewing projects, etc), I hope to get those up before too very long. Thanks much for your patience!

  2. Hi Amy! I was just playing that song on the piano today! I love it!
    Sometimes I think I have a right to think about what I want to think about and push God out of my mind. Take my mind Lord!

    Thank you for posting. :)

    ~Payton
    “If any man be in Christ he is a new creation…”

  3. Wonderful, Amy! I like the title “Afternoon Stream of Consciousness”. I can *never* think of good titles like that :)

    I’m really glad that you like the book…maybe you let your sister read it {hint, hint}. I would have to say just what Payton said “Sometimes I think I have a right to think about what I want to think about and push God out of my mind”…but I absolutely DON’T.

    It was a wonderful post, Amy! I enjoyed seeing something new on your blog!

    Greetings, from your sister!
    Bethany Joy

    1. Thank you for your joyful comment, Bethany. I do enjoy receiving them. They always make me smile =) That’s kind of you to say about the title of the post…though, I don’t really think it’s that wonderful of a title, and you always do a great job naming your posts. Love you!

  4. Thank you for sharing your heart on this very important area, Amy. I appreciated what you wrote and found my heart pricked as I read. Humility . . . that should be the goal of ever believer’s heart as it really is foundational to loving the Lord fully and to walking in obedience to Him. Realizing that we are nothing without Him, and that we need Him to work through us and not we ourselves in our own strength.

    Thank you again for sharing this!

    1. Thank you for sharing those thoughts, Sarah! They were a blessing to read. And I’m thankful that the post was encouraging to you. You’re very welcome in regards to sharing it =)

  5. Wow Amy. This post echoed some of my musings as of late… this post was a blessing to me. Thank u for being a willing mouthpiece for and of the Lord! I love u, dear sister! Katie Hamilton

  6. Have you ever read Kept for the Master’s Use? It is Frances Havergal’s own commentary on that hymn. After reading that book, I sing the hymn in an entirely new light!
    It may be hard to find, though. My parents’ copy was printed before 1900.

    1. No, I’ve never read that book, Hannah. It sounds very good, though! Especially since I like the hymn so much, I might have to see about reading it =) Thank you for sharing!

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

