Small Things

My sister keeps reminding me about my blog.  You can thank her that there’s actually a new post here. 

You see, I keep meaning to post–I really do–but I don’t just want to post anything.  I want to post something worthwhile, something more than simply some thrown together ramblings–and that’s all I can seem to come up with lately.  My thoughts have simply seemed to melt away in this summer heat; and when I actually sit down to write, there are no thoughts left spilling out my fingertips.  The blank screen holds my attention for a few moments, then I type a bit, backspace, type, backspace, and finally ‘x’ down my page.  Some other time, I’ll try again. 

But it’s most always the same.  No amazing or earth-shattering thoughts come, only small things.  Why waste my time writing those down? 

Perhaps, though, small things are good.  Not simply for writing blog posts, but just in life generally. 

…it’s those morning spent playing with baby sisters when you already have a long ‘to do’ list…it’s those thoughts scribbled quickly on a note card and stuck in the mail just as the postman pulls up–to show a friend you care even though your thoughts are jumbled and you’re not sure you’re even saying the right things…it’s doing dishes for a sibling when they’re busy and waving goodbye to Dad before he leaves for work…

Nothin’ big. 

And so, a waste of time then?  

No, not a waste.  Rather, blessed opportunities to show love to others, small chances to make a difference in the lives of those around us.   And, who knows what God may do with those small moments where we have gone outside our comfort zone or given of our time for another person.  It’s up to the Lord to decide what He wants to do with our little loaves and fish.  A few times our Savior used those loaves to feed thousands of people.  Other times He didn’t,  but even when he didn’t feed thousands, the loaves were not wasted. 

Even when I’ve got nothing big or glorious to offer, I want to be standing ready–ready to give Jesus everything I have–ready to be a vessel for Him to fill with His love and overflow to others.

22 thoughts on “Small Things

  1. Oftentimes we are learning the same thing at the same time so similarly that it almost scares me, Amy-girl!!!!! =) Our God is so good… He let me know this this morning … I took your advice you offered in your email… :) :) But He blessed me with wonders from His Word today. “Thou art GOOD and doest GOOD; teach me thy statutes” (psalms 119:68) psalms 134 & 135:1-3 reminded me that I need to PRAISE and BLESS the Name of our LoRD simply b/c HE IS GOOD!!! Whether or not this are going great for me at the time. **Ouch** Not saying things are perfect, but I wanted to thank you for your prayers, sweet sister, and to share with you a blessed answer to them!!! I love you so much!!!!!!!!!!

    • Oh, Katie! I’m so happy to hear this! Thank you SO MUCH for taking for taking the time to let me know ;) I’m going to keep praying for you, and may the Lord continue to bless you from His Word. He is SO, SO good!! Love you, too =)

  2. Thank you for sharing your beautiful heart-felt thoughts, Amy! They are lovely, and very thought-provoking for me! God bless you and your heart :)
    Raechel

    • I’m glad that they were thought provoking for you, Raechel! Thanks for commenting. It’s always a joy to hear from you.

  3. It is nice to see a post up from you again, Amy! I understand what you mean about blogging – that is exactly how I have been feeling recently (down to the “x-ing” of my page!).

    Also, thank you for the reminder that the small things do matter. How much blessings can be missed if we are always waiting for something “big” rather than serving God willingly and joyfully in the little things of here and now.

    Blessings in Christ,
    Anna

    • I guess sometimes we all go through seasons where blogging isn’t given as much importance, Anna :) I have been enjoying the posts that you have written lately, by the way. “Willing and joyfully”–that is exactly how we should be serving the Lord even if we only have ‘little things’ to do for Him!

  4. Thanks Amy! :) I’ve been thinking a lot about those things too. I hope to do better with the seemingly small things of life.
    ~Payton

    “Let my heart be filled.”

  5. This is a lovely post – hey, there’s no shame is writing a post with just silly rambles. I think sometimes, those are the best. So, dear Amy, just let the really inspirational posts come as they come, and throw in some random rambles in between then, too. :)

    Hugs!

    • Hey, Alexxus! Thanks for the encouraging comment…it was so nice to hear from you here :) I’m gonna be emailing you soon, Lord willing!

  6. Thank you Amy!! What a beautiful post!!

    It can be so hard to focus on the little
    things (especially for a type A, list oriented, driven person like me! :). I do think I’m capable of “enjoying the moments” though too and I do enjoy those times as well.

    Thank you for sharing and have a blessed evening!

    Love,
    Savannah

    • Aww, thanks, Savannah! You’re welcome for the post, and thanks for sharing your comment. That’s wonderful that you’re able to ‘enjoy the moments’ :) Many blessings to you!

  7. Small things are goood…even letting your sick sister have ice-cream at 10:00 at night *wink, wink*

    Thanks for the post, Amy! I enjoyed reading it :)

    *hugs*

    Bethany

  8. Hi Amy,
    Thanks for sharing that. It is a good reminder that sometimes the smallest things in life are the more important things. I like to think about that with smiling. Sometimes we think that a smile wouldn’t do much, but I have seen that just one simple smile can really brighten someones day. Thanks for the reminder to do even the little everyday tasks for the glory of God.
    God bless!

    ~Hannah~

    • Hi Hannah! You’re welcome! You’re right–smiles really can brighten someones day. I know there have been times when I’ve been feeling discouraged and someone was just smiling and cheerful and it really encouraged me. Everything to the glory of God–Amen!

  9. We always seem to aspire to ‘great things’ in the Christian walk: thousands of people coming to the LORD, revival, world-changing missions, etc. I think we forget how the LORD uses us in the small mundane things the most. Thanks for the reminder, Amy, it was much needed.

    Blessings,
    Meggie

    • And it’s often the little things that God uses in order to prepare us to big things. Like it says in Luke 16:10, the one who is faithful in the little things is faithful also in much. Thanks for sharing your comment, Meggie dear!

    • I just realized that I had never replied to your comment here, Sarah…so sorry about that!

      Anyway, I’m thankful that this could have been a blessing to you. You’re very welcome in regards to sharing.

please share your thoughts!

