November 24th–Thanksgiving Day

As I sat here writing down a thanksgiving list, I was reminded once again of how many, many things I have to thank the Lord for.  What a wonderful privilege it is to have a day set aside to praise God for His work and blessings in our lives. 

I wanted, this evening, to simply share three things that I’m especially thankful for today:

  1.  God my Father, the Savior Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit.  I owe everything in my life to the Lord.  Of course I know this, but I thought about it more today than I have lately.  It astounds me that I can call Him my own. 
  2. My wonderful family and dear church.  I can’t  say how much I love them all.  God has taught me so much about loving others through them.  The example of Godliness they live, the constant encouragement they are to me Spiritually, the fellowship we share with one another is such a blessing.
  3. Walking through trials with God’s grace.  This is one of the highest things on my thankful list this year because it’s a double thanksgiving.  I’m thankful because God has allowed us to experience trials, and I’m thankful that He is teaching me to be thankful for those trials.  Learning to be thankful has been hard this year.  There have been prayers, tears, sleepless nights, and many struggles as I learn to be truly thankful and trust the Lord’s will completely in everything.  I’m sure there will continue to be more struggles with this as time goes on, but at this point, the Lord is giving peace.

Dear friends, what are you thankful for this Thanksgiving day?

8 thoughts on “November 24th–Thanksgiving Day

Add yours

  1. Dear Amy, it was so nice to see a new post from you, and it blessed my heart to read these three things that you are most thankful for. They echo the very same things that I am so grateful for this year as well. (And also the special addition to our family of Adelyn! =) The Lord is so good, isn’t He? Even in the trials so many blessings are reaped . . . and He is faithful through them all.

    Another blessing that I am thankful for this year is [i]you[/i]. Your friendship has been a wonderful encouragement to me! Thank you!

    1. Sarah, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment :) Yes, yes! The Lord is so very good! And, Sarah, your friendship has been such a blessing to me! Thank you so much!

  2. Hi Amy,

    Nice to see a post here! Your thanksgiving list is similar to mine!
    One of many things I’m thankful for is health…to be able to run and walk, not being in the hospital. I think this is almost at the top of my list. Also our family bible studies.
    How was your thanksgiving?

    1. Thank you for sharing these things that you are thankful for, Lois! They are such wonderful things to praise the Lord for and definitely things that we should not take for granted!

      We spent the day home together as a family for Thanksgiving and had a very nice day. I hope that you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  3. Hi Amy!

    How are you going?

    One thing I am honest-to-goodness thankful for, the fact that I can call on God for strength and leading throughout the day when I get depressed or shoved down. :D It is so wonderful.

    Blessings,
    Meggie

    1. Hi Meggie! I love your thanksgiving praise! You’re right–it’s such a blessing to be able to call on God for strength.

      Hope you’re doing well :)

  4. Hey Amy!

    I am very thankful that God is bringing me to realization that His only Son died to save me. I realize how important it is and I want to give everything to Him.

    kennedy;)

    1. Oh, Kennedy! That is such a wonderful, wonderful gift to give thanks for! I’m so thankful to hear this–thank you for sharing!

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

