New Year’s Resolutions

I found my way downstairs at 7:20 this morning to visit with my mom a little before all the younger ones woke up.  In the few short minutes we had before heading upstairs once again, our discussions ranged from 20 hour road trips and Arizona weather to 2012 and New Year’s resolutions.

My mom explained how she still needed to sit down and get some thoughts prepared for the new year. 

I announced that I would no longer be making my typical new years resolutions.  

Don’t ask why I prepare new year resolutions like clockwork the last week of December.  Reasons unknown, I do it anyway.  And every year, last week of December, I recall how badly those aforementioned resolutions went.  For example, I cannot even recall this year’s resolution, with the exception of one. 

In light of that, I am completely revamping my resolution making process for the year 2012. 

Each ‘resolution’ I choose for 2012 will be a Scripture verse/passage.  Like this:

  1. Psalm 5:3–In the morning, O Lord, You will hear my voice; in the morning I will order my prayer to You and eagerly watch.   (Begin every day with morning prayer.)
  2. Hebrews 3:13–But encourage one another day after day, as long as it is still called “Today,” so that none of you will be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.  (Encourage another believer each day.)

Every December, I get excited about the upcoming year.  But this year I’m even more excited than normal! 

What do you think?  Do you make New Year’s resolutions? 

 

19 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Wonderful idea! I think I’m going to do this :)

    Thanks for sharing! You have some pretty great ideas =)

    • Aww, Bethany, thank you! When I get home I’m going to ask you all about it =)

      Miss you…I’d be so very happy for one of those late night chats right now. Love you!!

  2. Amy, I must admit that I have never really made a New Year’s Resolution because I have found in the past I have never really kept them. Since my conversion I have never thought of making any resolutions but I am falling in love with the idea of picking a scripture from God’s Word and making it a resolution for 2012. I will consider this very deeply and look into scripture and ask the Lord for direction and hopefully come with one that I can sincerely put my heart into this year and watch God’s Word sprout, grow and bear fruit. Thank you so much for sharing this Amy, thank you so very much!

    • Melissa, I was very blessed by your comment.

      “I will consider this very deeply and look into scripture and ask the Lord for direction and hopefully come with one that I can sincerely put my heart into this year and watch God’s Word sprout, grow and bear fruit.”

      I love your natural tendency to seek the Lord so quickly! Thank you, sister!

  3. This is a good idea Amy. Melissa and I will be talking about this while we are in Tulsa this week. I make it a point to read through Jonathan Edward’s resolutions around this time of year.

    • Reading J.E’s resolutions is a really good idea. I should do that again.

      I hope this thought was a blessing to you and Melissa if you had opportunity to discuss it this weekend.

  4. Wow Amy – great thoughts! Thank you for sharing!!!

    Our family normally talks about them (resolutions) toward the end of Decemeber too. I think this year was better in that we reviewed/encouraged each other in our resolutions more than we have in the past. I still need to firm up 2012, but I already have several things in mind. I didn’t get near all that I had planned done this year, but I’m very thankful for what the Lord has taught me and I look forward to what He will do in the new year!

    Blessings my friend!

    • That’s great that you and your family encouraged each other in your resolutions! I hope that this next year goes very well for you in that regard, again!

      Praise God for the things that He taught you this year! I, too, look forward to seeing His hand in our lives in 2012!

      Blessings to you, as well!

  5. I like that idea, Amy- I make New Year’s resolutions every year, but I usually right them down so I don’t forget them. This year’s resolutions was a flop, considering I didn’t complete any one of them. Lol! Trying this year to make a *cough* more reasonable list this year, with one I can actually strive for and make a good attempt to complete. ;)

    • Oh, Alexxus! So smart…why don’t I ever write mine down? Well, I did write some things down this evening. I’m not certain that they are my ‘resolutions’ in entirety yet, but I really wanted to get something on paper to press on toward for the new year. Hope yours go well for you!

  6. Mind if I copy you? Never been a new-years-resolution type, but I just might give it a try. Being more intentional about obeying scripture is never a bad thing.

    I’ve been having that “need to talk to Amy” feeling quite a bit lately, so we need to Skype soon. My mom has the computer set so that it doesn’t automatically sign in to Skype when we turn on the computer anymore, so that makes spur-of-the-moment conversations a little harder to do.

    Laura

    • Go right ahead, Laura! You’re exactly right–“being more intentional about obeying Scripture is never a bad thing”!

      I’ve been feeling the same about talking to you! Sorry it didn’t work out to skype very long this afternoon. Hopefully it’ll work out soon :)

  7. I like this idea a lot. Never heard of it before, but it’s very practical and just another way to get The Word into our minds and hearts.

    As for me, I called mine “goals,” not “resolutions,” but they’re really the same thing. Yes, I set some goals. Now I’m considering a Scripture memorization goal… hmm…

    • Oh, yes, Gabriel! Do a Scripture memorization goal! God has taught my family so much this year about the importance of His Word and we’ve been so blessed by encouragement to memorize it. It makes me so excited to see others memorizing too :)

      Thanks for commenting!

  8. I wanted to comment on this post for awhile, but never got the chance.

    Every year I would make New year’s resolutions and forget them by the end of January, so this year I gave up. But your post got me thinking that this year I should try to do a New year’s resolution and like Alexxus said I should write it down to remember it and also pray that I will fulfill it.

    Lois

    • I just realized that I’d never replied to your comment here, Lois! So sorry! Did you make any New Year’s Resolutions (and write them down)? Perhaps you could tell me about it in your next email if you did! :-)

      Also, you’re right–praying that God will help us to fulfill our resolutions is something we need to do.

please share your thoughts!

