Ready

As I read through the book of Acts today, I was impressed by the example of Ananias in chapter 9.

Now there was a disciple at Damascus named Ananias; and the Lord said to him in a vision, “Ananias.”  And he said, “Here I am, Lord.”
–Acts 9:10

“Here I am, Lord”–such is the response of a person ready, waiting for whatever the Lord may be asking, open to the call of his master.

Are we living with hearts ready and open to the call of Christ?  When he lays a task before us, are we available?  How sorrowful it would be to let excuses, busyness, or lack of desire get in the way of answering Christ’s call.

Remind them to be…ready for for every good deed.
–Titus 3:1

For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.
–Ephesians 2:10

10 thoughts on “Ready

Add yours

  1. This is really a good reminder Amy for me to always give myself to the Lord daily and to be ready for his call. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Being avalible is actually a bit of a challenge the Lord has thrown to me in this next season of life. If I am not avalible and listening, I wont hear His promting in conversation, I wont be ready to act on His word, moments that could have been used to spread His gospel and help others can pass me by without me ever realizing. :D

    Blessings,
    Meggie

    1. Really good example, Meggie! Thanks so much for sharing. You’re exactly right–if we’re not intentionally available, we risk missing opportunities to serve the Lord. (Oh, and guess what…”intentional” is what I’ve been thinking about lately. Expect a post on it shortly :-)

      So sorry we can’t skype tonight! ((hugs))

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

