intentionality

Intentional. 

I’m drawn to that word here of late.

Remember how ‘Available’ was the word of last week?  Well…

Availability begins with intentionality. 

Certain circumstances caused a great deal of contemplation over my life over the past several days.  Evaluation is a necessary part of my journey in life.  It’s also something that can be easily overlooked when the busyness of the day-to-day takes over.   Thank God He gives us reminders to stop and consider where we are headed.

What I gleaned from my contemplation of the weekend was the lack of intention toward my spiritual walk that I have been putting forth lately, as well as the great importance of doing such a thing.

Scripture resolutions don’t just happen.  Time slips by me if I’m not making an effort to “improve it the most profitable way I possibly can.”  (Jonathan Edward’s 5th resolution.)  

I want to be ready and available to follow Christ’s every call.  I want to sensitive to the Spirit’s leading in my life.  I want to diligently apply my life to Scripture.  But, it has to begin with a God-driven intentionality to follow Him.

Intentional.  It’s my word of the week.

{Shout-out to Tresta for the inspiration behind this ‘word of the week’ idea :-) }

10 thoughts on “intentionality

  1. So truly, love this thought!! and HAPPY B-DAY!! (you know, it’s coming from Spain and the flight was delayed ;)) sorry :) but I’m sure you enjoyed the day and hope this year you can grow in His Word and His blessings, hugs

    • Aww, thank you Jireh! You had me smiling with your comments about the birthday wishes coming from Spain! :-) I did have a very enjoyable day.

      Glad you enjoyed the post! ((HUGS))

  2. Excellent thoughts, Amy, and so true. Growth in our spiritual lives doesn’t just ‘happen’ . . . it takes effort, work, and sometimes pain and tears. But the joy along the way! And the blessings that the Lord gives as a fruit of the effort! It makes it all worthwhile.

    • That’s exactly right, Sarah! While the way *is* hard, God’s blessings and love make it all so worthwhile. That’s something I need to remind myself of more often.

      So nice to see a comment from you again–thank you!

  3. Hi Amy!

    Amen! :D Another look on what I am trying to be at the moment, open to what God has to say. I have to be intentional about trying to listen.

    Thankyou!
    Meggie

    • That’s great, Meggie! So glad to hear that this is something God has placed on your heart, too!

      Oh, dear–I owe you an email so bad. Lord willing, I’ll write it soon! ((hugs))

please share your thoughts!

