listen

IMG_0410

I live in a world of words. So much talk surrounding me every single place I turn: people, books, social media, music. We want to find our voice and be heard, because everyone else is already talking. The world has has many voices vying for my attention. So many voices that I can hardly focus attention on any of them.

Where are the people who will take time to stand back and listen, the ones who understand that the greatest Word has already been spoken?

Enough of the talking. It’s time to listen, to be transformed by Truth that stands out among all the voices whirling around my head.

9 thoughts on “listen

Add yours

  1. p.s. I’m not saying there isn’t a time to talk. Just sometimes seems like it’s so easy to talk so much that we (read, I) can forget to listen to the truth that transcends everything else. :)

  2. As wise old King Solomon said “There is a time for everything”
    How ready we are to let the good become the enemy of the best! May God help us!

  3. I am reminded of Samuel, who said readily, “Speak, Lord, for thy servant heareth”; and of Mary, who sat quietly listening to Jesus at His feet, not distracted by the things that “needed to be done.” And what did Jesus say, but that she had chosen the “good portion”?
    Thanks for this post, Amy; it’s something I need to be thinking about right now.

    1. I love those verses you shared, Katie- so fitting!
      It’s always such a blessing when I share my thoughts here and others help me deepen my thinking by adding their thoughts and Scriptures. Thank you :)

  4. guhh!!!! GOOD STUFF AMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This was so perfect for some things I was thinking over today that it’s not even funny! ((hugs)) miss you!

  5. Hi Amy, Sorry it’s been a long time since I’ve visited your blog :) I still have the old blog you were on, so I don’t get updates anymore. Will have to subscribe to this new one soon. I liked the room decorating post you had. Hope you have a wonderful day!

    1. Thanks for following and commenting, Becky! :) I’m glad you enjoyed the post about the room decorating. Hope y’all are doing well!

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

