the importance of art in a biblical worldview

Have you ever wondered if art really matters? When I first considered studying art as more than a hobby, I pondered this subject. Today, an article I’ve written, “The Importance of Art in a Biblical Worldview” was guest-posted on my brother Daniel’s blog.

In Genesis chapter one, God creates the earth and everything in it, culminating His creation with a man and a women who were made in His own image.

“So God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.”[1]

Made in the image of God, mankind is Spiritual, unlike the creatures of the heavens and earth that God also created. Mankind is also intelligent, relational, communicative, reasoning—and creative.  Because of the image of God imprinted in mankind, human beings create. Thus, there is art.

Click here to continue reading.

FullSizeRender

9 thoughts on “the importance of art in a biblical worldview

Add yours

      1. *facepalm* Sorry! I mean the drawing contest, or whatever.. At least that’s what your brother said on his blog. ;p

        1. Oh, I see what you mean! I think you’re referring to the blog giveaway (“drawing”) my brother had recently and referenced the winner on the end of my guest post. That was actually a different Amy who won. :) Thanks anyway!

  1. Wow, I never thought about it like that before. I have always loved drawing, but have always wondered what the real purpose of art is. Wonderful article!

please share your thoughts!

Up ↑

