there’s nothing like a morning

photo-1421986872218-300a0fea5895

Morning is a beautiful time of day. The sun pushes through the nighttime sky, rising in a brilliant array of colors. The world seems to wake up slowly and quietly- just the way it should- and with a surprising freshness.

In spite of all this, rising early is difficult for some people. Personally I’ve declared, “I’m not a morning person” more times than I can count, but something seemed amiss with this saying. I didn’t want to get up early; but when it came down to it, I needed to.  I need to seek God in the morning. While there are many reasons for rising early, these three consistently motivate me toward making the most of each morning.

I need an anchor for the unpredictable

When a new day begins, we never know how it will turn out. Every single day contains surprises that couldn’t have been expected the night before, ranging from good to bad, insignificant to huge. Sometimes it’s our own mindset or feelings that change the tone of the day- other times it’s the people we interact with or situations completely outside our control. The amount of variables contained in a single day are innumerable.

In the face of an enemy who prowls like a roaring lion, it is imperative to stand firm; and yet it can be difficult with so much unpredictability.  “Jesus Christ, the same yesterday, today, and forever.” That is the kind of anchor I need, the truth necessary to unshakably stand through life’s hardest or best days.

I need to realign my heart towards God’s Will

“Come now, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit’- yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, ‘If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.'” (James 4:13-15)

Lord willing is ingrained in our vocabulary, but how often into our living? Time seeking God in the morning is the perfect situation to prepare myself to say and live Lord willing. Before I even have plans, before I’m met with the surprises of the day, the morning gives me opportunity to submit myself again to God, realigning my desires to long for His will.

I need to be satisfied in God 

Not only am I physically hungry in the mornings but my soul is hungry.  From the moment we wake up in the morning, we’re going to start satisfying ourselves with something. Maybe it’s quiet moments in bed, maybe it’s the social media feed, breakfast, family, or so many other things. Not a single one of those can truly satisfy a hungry soul, but so often they temptingly convince that they can.

Before there is the chance for anything else to satisfy my hunger, the best choice I can make is to go to God equipped with His promises:”Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.”

Here’s the simple, plainest truth of it: I need God before and much more than anything else. The morning is perfect for living that out.

Granted, I still like my mornings to start slow, aided by an alarm ringing “Be Still My Soul,” a steaming cup of coffee, and quiet solitude. But for this “non-morning-person,” the morning is an incredibly edifying, refreshing time of day.

 

please share your thoughts!

